Millcreek Township Government Study Commission Organization Meeting

The Organization meeting of the Millcreek Township Government Study Commission was called to order at 4:03 p.m. by PA DCED Local Government Policy Specialist Terri Cunkle in the Assembly Room of the Millcreek Township Municipal Building. In attendance were James DeDad, John DiPlacido, Art Oligeri, William Schaaf, Paul Vojtek, Suzanne Weber, Terri Cunkle, Mary Ammann, and Denise Bizzarro. Donna Shaw arrived shortly after the meeting commenced.

Following the Pledge to the Flag, Ms. Cunkle reviewed the duties of the Government Study Commission and referenced copies of the PA Law – Title 53 and the Home Rule Optional Plan for DCED that were given to the Commissioners. Ms. Cunkle outlined procedures and encouraged the Commissioners to read and follow the PA Sunshine Law and noted that the Commission has nine months from the date of the election to research and compile the report, with the recommendation to be placed on the November ballot but submitted no later than 13 weeks before the election. She explained each component of the process: 1. Orientation, Organization and Planning Work, 2. Decide Direction of the Plan, Optional Plan or No Change, 3. Testing Public Opinion, 4. Draft Report, 5. Review and Public Discussion of Report, 6. Finalize Report, 7. Voter Education.

Questions were asked as follows: 1. Will a Solicitor be present at meetings, to which Ms. Cunkle replied that the Township Solicitor can attend meetings to review, but will not be giving legal advice; however, compensation should be included in the GSC budget. 2. What are duties of the Chairman? Ms. Cunkle replied that the Chairman and Vice Chairman can conduct the meetings but have no additional power.

Ms. Cunkle informed everyone that the Temporary Recording Secretary can call for nominations for Chairman. The Commission agreed to this. Temporary Recording Secretary Denise Bizzarro called for nominations for Temporary Chairman. On motion by Sue Weber, seconded by Paul Vojtek, Art Oligeri was elected Temporary Chairman by unanimous roll call vote.

On motion by William Schaaf, seconded by James DeDad, Paul Vojtek was elected Chairman by unanimous roll call vote.

On motion by James DeDad, seconded by Paul Vojtek, Art Oligeri was elected Vice Chairman by unanimous roll call vote.

On motion by Sue Weber, seconded by Paul Vojtek, John DiPlacido was elected Secretary.

It was moved by Sue Weber and seconded by Art Oligeri to nominate William Schaaf for Treasurer.

It was moved by William Schaaf and seconded by Paul Vojtek to nominate James DeDad for Treasurer.

It was moved by James DeDad to nominate Donna Shaw for Treasurer, but Ms. Shaw immediately declined the nomination and stated that she wanted James DeDad to be the Treasurer.

Discussion ensued between the nominees and Commissioners, and Sue Weber stated that William Schaaf brought the Board of Realtors into the 21st century with his accounting. William Schaaf stated that James DeDad probably has more auditing background. Sue Weber withdrew her nomination of William Schaaf for Treasurer, and James DeDad agreed to accept the nomination for Treasurer. Mr. Oligeri called for the vote and James DeDad was elected Treasurer by unanimous roll call vote.

Appointment of a Right-to-Know Officer was discussed and Ms. Cunkle advised that often the Secretary assumes these duties. No action was taken.

Chairman Paul Vojtek called for Public Comment. There was none.

Discussion ensued on how to select Alternates in case of any vacancies on the Board. It was moved by Sue Weber, seconded by John DiPlacido, to appoint five Alternates as follows: Robert J. Zonna, Bob Enas, Douglas Krugger in the order of the most votes received in the November election, and to appoint Millcreek residents Nancy Shea and Marcia Terry in alphabetical order by their last names.

Regarding the appointment of a Recording Secretary, Ms. Cunkle reported that Township Secretary Sheryl Williams was asked to serve, and has indicated that she would accept the appointment, separate from her Township position, conditional upon working after hours at the rate of \$40.00 per hour and will submit a written proposal. The Board unanimously tabled action on appointing a Recording Secretary until the December 18, 2024 meeting.

Discussion ensued on defining procedures, such as when to require or not require a quorum for workshop sessions, committee meetings and research activities, how much time to allow for public comment and whether or not to livestream the public meetings.

On motion by William Schaaf, seconded by Sue Weber, it was carried by unanimous roll call vote to allow each person three minutes for public comment.

On motion by Sue Weber, seconded by Art Oligeri, it was carried by unanimous roll call vote to have WQLN livestream the Government Study Commission public meetings at a total cost of approximately \$3375.00 - \$3,500.00.

Ms. Cunkle suggested acting on other procedures at the December 18, 2024 meeting and reviewed the various types of committees that should be formed and their purposes, such as: Budget (most important), Current government review, Optional forms of government review, Similar size and structure of municipality, Public relations, Reports, and Citizen review committees. She noted that the Alternates can and should serve on committees but will not have a vote.

On motion by Art Oligeri, seconded by Donna Shaw, it was carried by unanimous roll call vote to schedule meetings for December 2024 and 2025 as follows: Wed., December 18, 2024 at 4:30 p.m., and for 2025, the Commission will meet on the second and fourth Mondays of the month through July at 5:30 p.m., with no meeting on Memorial Day, with another meeting be decided at a later time.

Ms. Cunkle presented a standard sample RFP (Request for Proposal) for review and recommended advertising for a Professional Consulting Firm to guide the Government Study Commission. Township Solicitor Mark Shaw explained the timeline of the process in order receive RFPs by December 23, 2024. On motion by Sue Weber, seconded by Bill Schaaf, it was carried by unanimous roll call vote to advertise for RFPs to be due December 23, 2024. Ms. Cunkle explained that an electronic copy of the RFP will be available to send to vendors who have performed these services in the past.

Solicitor Shaw noted that a vote needs to be taken on the Budget Committee appointments. On motion by Paul Vojtek and seconded by Art Oligeri, it was carried by unanimous call vote to appoint the following people to serve on the Budget Committee: James DeDad, Chair, and Bill Schaaf, Sue Weber and Douglas Krugger.

A question was asked if the Commission will review the proposals, to which Ms. Cunkle replied that the Chairman will review them and then forward to the Commissioners.

Sue Weber thanked Ms. Cunkle for her assistance in getting the Commission organized. On motion by Bill Schaaf, seconded by Paul Vojtek, it was carried by unanimous roll call vote to note in the minutes that a public thank you be given to the Millcreek Township Citizens Committee for organizing and implementing the Government Study Commission process and getting them to this point.

On motion by William Schaaf, seconded by Sue Weber, it was carried by unanimous roll call vote to adopt Robert's Rules of Order for conducting future meetings.

It was suggested that three members of the Commission serve on each committee, but this will be decided at the December 18, 2024 meeting.

There was no further business and or Public Comment.

It was moved by William Schaaf, seconded by Art Oligeri and carried by unanimous roll call vote to adjourn the meeting at 5:24 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,			
Sheryl A. Williams, Temporary Recording Secr	 etary		
Approved December 18, 20)24		
Paul Vojtek, Chairman		William Schaaf	
James DeDad		Donna Shaw	
John DiPlacido		Suzanne Weber	
Art Oligeri			